Miscellaneous Publications of the Entomological Society of America

> MORRIS ROCKSTEIN Editor KATE KELLY

Managing Editor

Number 71 February 1989

RICHARD H. FOOTE ELIZABETH A. MITCHELL Copy Editors

CHRISTINA A. DAVIS CAROLINE A. O'CONNELL STEPHEN D. PAZDAN Editorial Assistants

## Editorial Board

George L. Teetes, Chairman College Station, Tex. Section F (1989)

Donald E. Mock Manhattan, Kans. Section E (1990)

Roger D. Moon St. Paul, Minn. Section D (1990)

## Published by the Entomological Society of America

Dorothy Feir President Lloyd V. Knutson Past President James H. Oliver, Jr. President-Elect Marcos Kogan Champaign, Ill. Section C (1991)

Nancy E. Beckage Madison, Wis. Section B (1992)

James M. Carpenter Cambridge, Mass. Section A (1993)

Donald L. McLean Secretary-Treasurer

W. Darryl Hansen Executive Director

Paul Moniz S*ales* 

Cover by Tara L. Peterson, Veterinary Toxicology and Entomology Research Laboratory, USDA-ARS, College Station, Tex.

© 1989 by the Entomological Society of America. All rights reserved.

Address all inquiries to

Managing Editor, 9301 Annapolis Road, Lanham, Maryland 20706.

THIS PUBLICATION IS PRINTED ON ACID-FREE PAPER