

Report of the Eighty-Second Annual Meeting of the Cooper Ornithological Society

Source: The Condor, 115(1): 209

Published By: American Ornithological Society

URL: https://doi.org/10.1525/cond.2013.115.1.209

The BioOne Digital Library (https://bioone.org/) provides worldwide distribution for more than 580 journals and eBooks from BioOne's community of over 150 nonprofit societies, research institutions, and university presses in the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences. The BioOne Digital Library encompasses the flagship aggregation BioOne Complete (https://bioone.org/subscribe), the BioOne Complete Archive (https://bioone.org/archive), and the BioOne eBooks program offerings ESA eBook Collection (https://bioone.org/esa-ebooks) and CSIRO Publishing BioSelect Collection (https://bioone.org/esa-ebooks) and CSIRO Publishing BioSelect Collection (https://bioone.org/csiro-ebooks).

Your use of this PDF, the BioOne Digital Library, and all posted and associated content indicates your acceptance of BioOne's Terms of Use, available at www.bioone.org/terms-of-use.

Usage of BioOne Digital Library content is strictly limited to personal, educational, and non-commmercial use. Commercial inquiries or rights and permissions requests should be directed to the individual publisher as copyright holder.

BioOne is an innovative nonprofit that sees sustainable scholarly publishing as an inherently collaborative enterprise connecting authors, nonprofit publishers, academic institutions, research libraries, and research funders in the common goal of maximizing access to critical research.

NEWS AND NOTES

The Condor 115(1):209–209 © The Cooper Ornithological Society 2013

REPORT OF THE EIGHTY-SECOND ANNUAL MEETING OF THE COOPER ORNITHOLOGICAL SOCIETY

The Cooper Ornithological Society held its 82nd annual meeting 14–18 August 2012, in conjunction with NAOC-V in Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada.

The Society's Loye and Alden Miller Research Award for lifetime achievement in ornithological research was presented to Thomas E. Martin, Senior Scientist and Assistant Unit Leader of the USGS Montana Cooperative Fish and Wildlife Research Unit at the University of Montana. See Award Announcements in this issue for a full citation.

First awarded in 2009, the Young Professional Award recognizes early-career researchers for their outstanding scientific research and contributions to the ornithological profession. In 2012, the society awarded two Young Professional Awards, to LUCIANO NAKA, Universidade Federal de Roraima, Brazil, for "Timing of avian diversification and the role of Amazonian rivers in the speciation process," and MORGAN TINGLEY, Princeton University, for "Grinnell's legacy: effects of a century of climate change on species occurrence and community composition in the Sierra Nevada."

The A. Brazier Howell Award was given to CONOR TAFF, University of California, Davis, for his presentation with Peter Dunn and Corey Freeman-Gallant, "Breeding density and spatial distribution of nests constrain the strength of sexual selection in a warbler."

The Frances F. Roberts Award was presented to Kathryn Langin, Colorado State University, with Scott Sillett, Chris Funk,

Scott Morrison, and Cameron Ghalambor, for "Divergence with gene flow: local adaptation in bill morphology within a single-island endemic, the Island Scrub Jay."

Two COS Board of Directors awards were awarded to Shane Dubay, for his presentation with Christopher Witt, University of New Mexico, "Diversification by local adaptation to altitude in Andean tit-tyrants," and Katrina Lukianchuk, for her poster with Stephanie Doucet, University of Windsor, "Social hierarchy and the development of dancing ability in young Long-tailed Manakins."

Student Travel Awardees were presented jointly at NAOC-V and are listed in the October 2012 *Ornithological Newsletter*, No. 210.

The members of the Society, through online balloting, elected Carla Cicero, Renée Duckworth, and Thomas Martin to three-year terms as members of the Board of Directors.

In the Board of Directors' meetings, the following individuals were elected to or continue in office: Kimberly A. Sullivan, President; Frank Moore, President-elect; Abby Powell, Secretary; T. J. Fontaine, Assistant Secretary; Jeff Kelly, Treasurer; Margaret Petersen, Assistant Treasurer, Michael Patten, Editor-in-Chief of the *Condor*, and Brett Sandercock, Editor of *Studies in Avian Biology*.

The next annual meeting of the Cooper Ornithological Society will be held in conjunction with the American Ornithologists' Union 13–17 August 2013, in Chicago, Illinois. The meeting will be hosted by the Field Museum and the local committee chair is JOHN BATES.

The Condor, Vol. 115, Number 1, page 209. ISSN 0010-5422, electronic ISSN 1938-5129. © 2013 by The Cooper Ornithological Society. All rights reserved. Please direct all requests for permission to photocopy or reproduce article content through the University of California Press's Rights and Permissions website, http://www.ucpressjournals.com/reprintlnfo.asp. DOI: 10.1525/cond.2013.115.1.209