

The Elizabeth Ann Bartholomew Award Application

Source: Castanea, 80(3) : 151-152

Published By: Southern Appalachian Botanical Society

URL: https://doi.org/10.2179/0008-7475-79.3.151

The BioOne Digital Library (<u>https://bioone.org/</u>) provides worldwide distribution for more than 580 journals and eBooks from BioOne's community of over 150 nonprofit societies, research institutions, and university presses in the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences. The BioOne Digital Library encompasses the flagship aggregation BioOne Complete (<u>https://bioone.org/subscribe</u>), the BioOne Complete Archive (<u>https://bioone.org/archive</u>), and the BioOne eBooks program offerings ESA eBook Collection (<u>https://bioone.org/esa-ebooks</u>) and CSIRO Publishing BioSelect Collection (<u>https://bioone.org/csiro-ebooks</u>).

Your use of this PDF, the BioOne Digital Library, and all posted and associated content indicates your acceptance of BioOne's Terms of Use, available at <u>www.bioone.org/terms-of-use</u>.

Usage of BioOne Digital Library content is strictly limited to personal, educational, and non-commmercial use. Commercial inquiries or rights and permissions requests should be directed to the individual publisher as copyright holder.

BioOne is an innovative nonprofit that sees sustainable scholarly publishing as an inherently collaborative enterprise connecting authors, nonprofit publishers, academic institutions, research libraries, and research funders in the common goal of maximizing access to critical research.

The Elizabeth Ann Bartholomew Award

PURPOSE

Elizabeth Ann Bartholomew (1912–1985) served as the Secretary of the Southern Appalachian Botanical Club (now Society) from 1946 until 1981. Her life was devoted to plants, and she transferred her interest in plants and nature to students of all ages and walks of life. The Southern Appalachian Botanical Society annually presents the Elizabeth Ann Bartholomew Award in memory of her untiring service to the public, to plant systematics, and to this organization. This award is presented to individuals who have also distinguished themselves in professional and public service that advances our knowledge and appreciation of the world of plants and their scientific, cultural, and aesthetic values, and/or in exceptional service to the Society.

TO NOMINATE A DESERVING COLLEAGUE FOR THE 2016 BARTHOLOMEW AWARD,

Please go to the SABS website [<u>http://www.sabs.appstate.edu/</u>] or fill out a copy of the printed form below and mail it to the chair of the Bartholomew award committee by **February 1, 2016**. SABS members may nominate more than one person.

Your Name:	 	
Your Address:	 	
Your Phone:	 Your E-mail:	
Nominee Name:		
Nominee Address:	 	
Nominee Phone:	 Nominee E-mail:	

TYPES OF SERVICE RENDERED BY NOMINEE

Check all applicable categories and circle appropriate examples within the check categories. Attach additional sheets to fully describe.

- 1) **EDUCATIONAL.** The nominee has served the public by organizing or leading field trips, conducting workshops, or delivering botanical/ecological lectures. Alternately, the nominee has written popular field guides, manuals, or textbooks, and/or technical, usually color illustrated, field books, guides, and articles.
- 2) SERVICE TO SOUTHERN APPALACHIAN BOTANICAL SOCIETY. The nominee has provided commendable service to the Society in its activities and affairs.
- 3) **SCIENCE.** The nominee has provided curatorial service by maintaining collections and distributing specimens to the botanical community and/or conducted notable field research in plant systematics and/or ecology, particularly in the Southern Appalachians and the southeastern United States.
- 4) OTHER. Please describe: ____

Please note: The Elizabeth Ann Bartholomew Award will not be presented posthumously or jointly. Current members of either the Executive Council or the Bartholomew Award Committee are not eligible.

PLEASE APPEND A LIST OF NAMES AND ADDRESSES (INCLUDING E-MAIL) OF AT LEAST FIVE COLLEAGUES WHOM YOU BELIEVE WOULD SUPPORT THIS NOMINATION WITH AN ENTHUSIASTIC LETTER OR RECOMMENDATION IF CONTACTED BY THE AWARD COM-MITTEE. Please send applications to: **Michael Baranski** Department of Biology, Catawba College, Salisbury, NC 28144-2488. Questions may be directed to him at: Phone: 704-637-4442. E-mail: mbaransk@catawba.edu

2014–2015 BARTHOLOMEW AWARD COMMITTEE

Michael Baranski Catawba College (2015–2017) Tom Wentworth Raleigh, NC (2014–2017) Patricia Cox Knoxville, TN (2015–2018)

ELIZABETH ANN BARTHOLOMEW AWARD RECIPIENTS

1989—Aaron J. Sharp 1990—Wilbur H. Duncan 1991—Albert E. Radford 1992—Edward E.C. Clebsch 1993—Roy B. Clarkson 1994—James W. Hardin 1995—James F. Matthews 1996—John M. Herr, Jr. 1997—Donna M.E. Ware 1998—J. Dan Pittillo 1999—Dan Evans 2000—C. Ritchie Bell 2001—R. Dale Thomas 2002—William H. Martin 2003—James A. Schrader 2004—B. Eugene Wofford 2005—Gary E. Dillard 2006—Joe E. Winstead 2007—Angus K. Gholson, Jr. 2008—Michael J. Baranski 2009—Charlie Williams 2010—Donald R. Windler 2011—Charles N. Horn 2012—Audrey Mellichamp 2013—Stewart Ware 2014—Thomas Wentworth 2015—Patricia Cox

RICHARD AND MINNIE WINDLER AWARD RECIPIENTS

- 1991—Martha Caroline Easley and
- Walter S. Judd
- 1992–Douglas W. Ogle
- 1993—Warren Frank Lamboy
- 1994—Gwynn W. Ramsey et al.
- 1995—Patricia B. Cox and Lowell E. Urbatsch
- 1996—Paul R. Cabe
- 1997—Daniel F. Brunton, Donald M. Britton, and Thomas F. Wieboldt
- 1998—Bruce Sorrie et al.
- 1999-Mark Widrlechner
- 2000-Richard K. Clements
- 2001-Deborah Q. Lewis
- 2002-James R. Allison
- 2003-James A. Schrader
- 2004-Robert G. Downer and Philip E. Hyatt
- 2005-Larry Barden and Jim Matthews

- 2006-Kerry D. Heafner and Rebecca D. Bray
- 2007—Matthew Sewell and
 - Michael A. Vincent
- 2008—Aaron H. Kennedy and Gary L. Walker
- 2009—Michael Woods
- 2010—Jimmie D. Thompson, William R. Norris, and
 - Deborah P. Lewis
- 2011—Dwayne Estes
- 2012-James Schrader and William R. Graves
- 2013—Joey Shaw, J. Hill Craddock, and Meagan A. Binkley
- 2014—Systematics Lisa E. Wallace and Christopher H. Doffitt
- 2014—Ecological Donald G. Ruch, Bryon G. Torke, Kemuel S. Badger, John E. Taylor, Benjamin R. Hess, and Paul E. Rothrock