Open Access
How to translate text using browser tools
27 December 2017 2017 AOS Student Presentation Awards
Matthew D. Carling, Morgan W. Tingley
Author Affiliations +

The AOS proudly recognizes the students receiving honors for the best oral presentations given at the 135th stated meeting of American Ornithology in East Lansing, Michigan. These awards are not ranked. They honor excellence in presenting original, significant science that advances our understanding of birds and their conservation. The Student Presentation Awards Committee chairs are Matt Carling and Morgan Tingley. The 2017 awardees (listed in alphabetical order of last names for categories with multiple awardees) are as follows:


Sarah Dzielski, Cornell University

Poster: What's in a feather? Reconstructing mercury concentrations through time using museum specimens

The Nellie Johnson Baroody Award recognizes an outstanding oral presentation by a student given on any topic. The award was established in 1980 by an anonymous donor, who endowed a fund in honor of the individual's early mentor, Mrs. Baroody, an amateur birdwatcher in Berwyn, Illinois. The award includes an honorarium and a framed certificate.


Kristin Bianchini, University of Saskatchewan

Presentation: Effects of oil contaminant exposure on pre-migratory fuelling in two shorebird species

The Robert B. Berry Award recognizes the best oral presentation by a student on the subject of conservation. The award was established in 2007 at the annual meeting in Laramie, Wyoming, through the generous gift of Mr. Berry, a Wyoming rancher, philanthropist, falcon breeder, and conservationist. The award includes an honorarium and a framed certificate.

2017 AOS Student Presentation Award winners: (from left to right) George Cummins, Amélia Roberto-Charron, Kristin Bianchini, Tara Imlay, Katie Schroeder, Kyle Horton, Desiree Narango, Shane DuBay, Sarah Dzielski, Nick Mason.



Tara Imlay, Dalhousie University

Presentation: Carry-over effects from wintering to breeding for Barn and Cliff swallows

Janice Kelly, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Presentation: Conspecific and heterospecific responses to perceived density for breeding habitat selection

The Mark E. Hauber Award recognizes the most outstanding oral presentation by a student on avian behavior. The presentation must include statistical analysis of the behavior of individually identifiable birds in the wild or in captivity. The award was established in 2015 through a generous gift by Dr. Hauber, the 18th editor of The Auk and a dedicated ornithologist and behavioral scientist. The award includes an honorarium and a framed certificate.


George Cummins, Northern Arizona University

Presentation: Evolution of response to nest predators in passerines

Shane DuBay, University of Chicago

Presentation: Bird specimens track 135 years of atmospheric soot and environmental policy

Kyle Horton, University of Oklahoma

Presentation: The migrant turnstile, quantifying 21 years of migration through the Gulf of Mexico

Nick Mason, Cornell University

Presentation: Song evolution, vocal learning, and speciation in passerine birds

Desiree Narango, University of Delaware

Presentation: Non-native plants reduce reproductive success of an insectivorous bird

Katie Schroeder, East Carolina University

Presentation: Vocalizations in a non-passerine: What can call structure tell us about an individual king rail?

The Council of the American Ornithological Society recognizes students at each annual meeting for their outstanding oral presentations given on any subject. The award includes an honorarium and a framed certificate.

© 2018 American Ornithological Society.
Matthew D. Carling and Morgan W. Tingley "2017 AOS Student Presentation Awards," The Auk 135(1), 168-169, (27 December 2017).
Published: 27 December 2017
Back to Top