Open Access
How to translate text using browser tools
27 December 2017 Elliott Coues Award 2017, to Kevin J. McGraw
Keith A. Hobson, Craig W. Benkman, Elizabeth P. Derryberry, Patricia G. Parker, Joseph M. Wunderle
Author Affiliations +

The American Ornithological Society (AOS) is pleased to give the 2017 Elliott Coues Award, in recognition of outstanding and innovative contributions to ornithological research, to Dr. Kevin J. McGraw.

Kevin is a professor of evolutionary and systems biology at Arizona State University. His research has focused on identifying the chemical nature, distribution, and functions of natural carotenoid pigments. This innovative work on animal coloration constitutes an outstanding example of integrating multiple levels of biological organization; it relates animal coloration to immune activity and infections, sensory perception, social behavior, nutrition, endocrine physiology, and effects of urbanization. Kevin's work has focused broadly on birds of the world, from passerines to hummingbirds to parrots to penguins. His research has wide-ranging implications for understanding organismal adaptations to environmental constraints. He has authored well over 150 scientific articles, in addition to coediting a well-received two-volume book, Bird Coloration (2006). Moreover, Kevin has mentored an impressive number of Ph.D. and undergraduate students.

The Elliott Coues Award recognizes extraordinary contributions to ornithological research. The award is named in honor of Elliott Coues, a pioneering ornithologist of the western United States and a founding member of the American Ornithologists' Union. There is no limitation with respect to geographic area, subdiscipline of ornithology, or time course over which the work was done. The award consists of a medal and an honorarium provided through the endowed Elliott Coues Achievement Award Fund. To read more about the award, go to To see a list of previous recipients, go to

Kevin J. McGraw

© 2018 American Ornithological Society.
Keith A. Hobson, Craig W. Benkman, Elizabeth P. Derryberry, Patricia G. Parker, and Joseph M. Wunderle "Elliott Coues Award 2017, to Kevin J. McGraw," The Auk 135(1), 163, (27 December 2017).
Published: 27 December 2017
Back to Top