How to translate text using browser tools
27 December 2010 Myconet Volume 14. Part One. Outline of Ascomycota—2009. Part Two. Notes on Ascomycete Systematics. Nos. 4751–5113
H. Thorsten Lumbsch, Sabine M. Huhndorf
Author Affiliations +

Part One presents the current classification that includes all accepted genera and higher taxa above the generic level in the phylum Ascomycota. It is based on the changes listed in Myconet notes 4751–5113. In the current outline, three subphyla (Pezizomycotina, Saccharomycotina, Taphrinomycotina) are accepted. Taphrinomycotina includes four classes (Neolectomycetes, Pneumocystidomycetes, Schizosaccharomyces, Taphrinomycetes). Saccharomycotina consists of one class and Pezizomycotina includes eleven classes (Arthoniomycetes, Dothideomycetes, Eurotiomycetes, Geoglossomycetes, Laboulbeniomycetes, Lecanoromycetes, Leotiomycetes, Lichinomycetes, Orbiliomycetes, Pezizomycetes, Sordariomycetes). Part Two presents 363 notes on the taxonomy and nomenclature of ascomycetes (Ascomycota) at the generic and higher levels. Numerous changes in higher levels resulted from multi-authored phylogenetic papers resulting from the AFTOL and Deep Hyphae projects, especially a publication on a revised fungal classification spearheaded by David Hibbett in 2007 and a 2009 volume of Studies in Mycology edited by Conrad Schoch and others dedicated to the phylogeny of the Dothideomycetes. The new name Alectoria gowardii Lumbsch is proposed for Gowardia arctica P. Halonen, L. Myllys, S. Velmala & H. Hyvärinen (non Alectoria arctica Elenkin & Savicz).

H. Thorsten Lumbsch and Sabine M. Huhndorf "Myconet Volume 14. Part One. Outline of Ascomycota—2009. Part Two. Notes on Ascomycete Systematics. Nos. 4751–5113," Fieldiana Life and Earth Sciences 2010(1), 1-64, (27 December 2010).
Published: 27 December 2010

This article is only available to subscribers.
It is not available for individual sale.

Get copyright permission
Back to Top